When I was a young newspaper reporter I photographed automobile accidents, house fires, and other tragedies. Law enforcement officers once asked me to stand guard by a car in which a man had just committed suicide, shooting himself in the mouth.  I was to keep the children away as they got off the school bus so they wouldn’t see the blood and gore in the car that was parked in front of their apartment building.  I witnessed autopsies.  I was threatened by the family of a man who was arrested for shooting  up a sheriff’s department vehicle. I had taken a photograph of the vehicle full of bullet holes.

Today, no longer a reporter, I take family photos and portraits and am particularly drawn to nature photography.  As I have posted in an earlier blog, I live in the woods and do not have to venture far to find an abundance of subjects.  Sometimes I have no idea why I want to photograph a certain insect or flower or mushroom.  Am I crazy, I wonder? I will walk down the driveway to get the mail and come hurriedly back inside to get my camera so that I can photograph a lizard, a leaf, lichen growing on the fence post.

Here are a few photos from this past week:

I waited for what seemed like forever and took many blurry shots before finally capturing this hummingbird in the pines.
These mushrooms, growing near a holly bush, are what sent me inside for my camera when I walked down to get the mail.
I love this butterfly on the blossom of the butterfly bush. The bush was heavily damaged by ice in the winter and by drought this summer but still drew the bees and butterflies.
Beautiful, even with a broken wing. As autumn arrives, butterflies are becoming more scarce in the garden.
The sweet gum tree is changing colors, heralding the arrival of autumn. My daughter thinks the leaf looks like a starfish.

“Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.”  (Albert Einstein)

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on ““Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.”

Leave a Reply

