Sometimes what we are looking for is right under our nose.  I was searching in vain for a photo for this week’s challenge from A Word in Your Ear.  As I gazed out the window wondering if there was anywhere else I could look for a photo of something orange, I saw three things, all orange, staring me in the face.

1. My favorite flower pot on the windowsill

My dear friend G. sent flowers to my husband when he had open-heart surgery, and they came in this bright and cheery orange pot which has remained my favorite ever since.  The shamrock plant is a reminder of my grandmother who always had a potted shamrock in her home and once gave me one that lived for 20 years.

orange pot with shamrock plant
(Look through the window. More orange!)

2. Our funky birdhouse in orange, red and pink polka dots

3. The blooming flame azalea that grows wild just outside the kitchen window and usually is yellow but has turned a brilliant orange this year

For more about this week’s challenge, see http://suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/a-word-a-week-challenge-orange-7/

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “A Word A Week Challenge: Orange

Leave a Reply

