I was sitting in our front room last night watching an episode of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries on TV when it sounded as if several people were stamping their feet on the front porch.  My rational mind told me no one was on the porch, but we do live in a rural area, and I was watching a murder mystery, and my irrational fear tried to take over.  Then the front door began to shake as if several people were trying to get in.

My husband was already in bed asleep.  Time seemed to stop.  I kept looking at the door handle to see if it was turning, if someone really was trying to get in.  Then the shaking spread to the adjacent wall, and the door to the coat closet began to vibrate.  The shaking seemed to go on forever, but I know it couldn’t have lasted more than a few seconds.  I sincerely hoped it was a small earthquake because if it wasn’t, something very spooky had just occurred.

It was an earthquake, centered near Edgefield, South Carolina and felt not only in South Carolina but also in parts of North Carolina and Georgia.  Measuring 4.1 on the Richter scale, it is considered by the U.S. Geological Survey to be a large quake for this geographical area.  It already has been dubbed the Valentine’s Day Earthquake.

earthquake I live in North Georgia, about 100 miles from the quake’s epicenter.

From: Edgefield, SC To: Cleveland, GA
      On this map, “A” is the epicenter, and “B” is where I live.

Those of you who live in earthquake-prone areas and experience this frequently, or those of you who have experienced major earthquakes probably find my response to be amusing at least.  But honestly, I was glad to be able to confirm this morning that what I felt last night was an earthquake.

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “Earthquake !!

Leave a Reply

