There have been no posts on my blog for the past two weeks,  two weeks that have gone by in a blur.

On Monday, April 28, my mother informed the doctor that she wanted to stop her chemo treatments.  The doctor admitted that the chemo plus her failing kidneys were poisoning her.  He gave her nine to twelve months to live and placed her under hospice care.  Within less than a week she was gone, passing away on Sunday, May 4, surrounded by her family. Yesterday, May 11, was Mother’s Day, my first without my mother.

I came down with a respiratory infection the day after her death and have been highly medicated since then with over-the-counter medications and a prescription cough medicine for a hacking cough.  I am finding it difficult to think beyond the next step that must be taken, moment by moment.

Eventually there will be more blog posts and photos plus information on grandson B. whose neurosurgery is scheduled for May 19. For a while I may be gone, but I shall be coming back.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
20 thoughts on “On Being Gone and Coming Back

  1. I am so sorry – my heart and prayers are with you and your family. There are no words that can bring you comfort right now. Rest and take care of yourself and I hope you are soon feeling physically better soon. If you need to talk please contact me. {{hugs}}

    Like

  2. I hope his surgery goes well today.
    I was sorry to hear about your mother. She knew she didn’t want any more aggressive treatment. My wife was the same.
    Ian

    Like

    1. Thank you, Ian. The surgery did go well, but there will be a second procedure later this week, possibly on Thursday. I appreciate your kind words about my mother and am sorry about your wife. It’s hard to lose a loved one. Deb

      Like

Leave a Reply

