Two days ago I captured these lovely yellow flowers that were peeking through the hedge that separates my father’s property from that of his neighbor. They are the flowers of the Winter Jasmine (Jasminum nudiflorum) plant, a deciduous shrub that is native to China but has become naturalized in France and in scattered locations in the U.S., including here in Georgia.

The solitary flowers bloom on bare stems, hence the scientific name Jasminum nudiflorum which means “naked jasmine flower.”  Winter Jasmine blooms from November through March, apparently in spite of the cold temperatures and frost. I had never seen it before in that location and will keep my eye on it to see if it continues to bloom when even colder weather sets in later this month.

I didn’t have my camera with me, so these shots were taken with my phone.

Winter Jasmine in December #2

Winter Jasmine in December #1

 

2 thoughts on “Phoneography – Now Blooming In My Corner of North Georgia: Winter Jasmine

Leave a Reply

